Responsible Diver Code

responsible_diver_hand.gif


THE CODE OF THE RESPONSIBLE DIVER

As a responsible diver, I understand and assume all the risks I may encounter while diving. My diving duties include:

  • Diving within the limits of my ability and training
  • Evaluating the conditions before every dive and making sure they fit my personal capabilities
  • Being familiar with and checking my equipment before and during every dive
  • Knowing my buddy’s ability level as well as my own
  • Accepting the responsibility for my own safety on every dive

Training

As a Responsible Diver…

  • I understand that my basic card is a learning permit only. It does not qualify me to dive anywhere, at anytime.
  • I understand the importance of getting site-specific training when planning to dive in an environment different from my initial training.
  • I understand the importance of continuing my diving education in the form of supervised activities such as night diving and deep diving specialities.
  • I understand the need to get specific training in the proper use and application of technical equipment such as dry suits and computers.
  • I understand the need to refresh my diving skills under supervision if I haven’t been diving recently.
  • I understand the dangers of overhead environments (caves and wrecks) and will seek specialized training before doing such diving.
  • I understand the need to keep my diving emergency response skills sharp through supervised practice and mental role playing.
  • I understand the power of positive role modeling and will assist those with less experience than myself.
  • I understand that there are no limits to what I can learn about diving. The more I know the safer I’ll be.

Health

As a Responsible Diver, I must be aware of many factors before a dive. Health is one of the most important areas for me to consider. A diver in poor health may be moments away from NO health.

Before a dive consider:

  • Fitness – Has it been awhile since I’ve been diving? Am I in shape for the dive I’m planning?
  • Illness – Am I suffering from a cold, hangover, flu, or another health deficiency that may cause complications during my dive?
  • Medications – Am I taking ANY medications, including over-the-counter drugs, without consulting a diving physician first?
  • Capabilities – Am I capable of performing the dive? Do I have any disabilities that may cause complications during the dive?

If you answered yes to any of these questions you need to reconsider your ability to safely perform the dive. Getting injured is no way to have fun.

Equipment

As a Responsible Diver…

  • My equipment must be equal to the type of diving I will be doing.
  • My equipment must be properly maintained and in good working order.
  • I must have training in using my equipment and that training must be current.
  • I must practice with my equipment until all facets of its use becomes second nature.
  • I check that my equipment is operating properly before each dive.
  • My equipment is serviced annually according to manufacturer’s recommendations by a factory authorized service technician.
  • I understand that simply owning my equipment doesn’t give me the knowledge and ability to dive safely.

Environmentally Friendly Diving

Like the Hippocratic Oath taken by physicians, the responsible diver’s first duty is to do no harm; to enjoy the ocean without diminishing it for those who follow and especially for those who live there.

As a Responsible Diver…

  • I have mastered buoyancy, fin control, and control of my gauges and accessories so that my dive gear does not bump or crush living organisms.
  • I am careful about what I touch underwater.
  • I do not break plants or coral or collect “souvenirs.”
  • I do not feed or handle fish.
  • I respect laws on size and limits for game.
  • I collect and dispose of trash I find while diving.
  • I let dive buddies, resorts, and dive operators know how I feel about environmental responsibility.

The resorts and operators I dive with:

  • Use mooring buoys whenever available or anchor in areas free of live bottom.
  • Give thorough environmental briefings to divers before they enter the water.
  • Contain photo processing chemicals for proper disposal.
  • Dispose of trash responsibly.
  • Uphold environmental regulations and game limits.

The Dive

Now you are ready for the dive… or are you? Scuba diving is an exciting sport, and like every sport, it requires proper planning and preparation. Responsible divers know that even on well-planned dives, the unexpected can often occur.

Every dive is an adventure. Whether it be reef or wreck, beach or boat, it is your responsibility to plan your dive within the conditions of the dive site, within your abilities and skill, and within those of your dive partners.


Grab your gear bag and let’s go diving…

Every diver, regardless of experience, uses a checklist prior to the dive to make sure each piece of gear is ready.

  • Check your air. Test your gear.
  • Ask about the dive. Check the depth. Check the water conditions. Ask about the best entry and exit points, and what you can expect.
  • Are the dive conditions commensurate with your abilities and skill level?
  • Plan your dive. Check the dive tables (or your dive computer) for allowed bottom time for the planned depth.
  • Review your dive plan with your dive partner. Discuss with each other how you dive, what your skills are and the location of your gear.
  • Entering and exiting the water requires special care. Watch for other divers and watch your gear. This is a time when many divers lose unsecured gear.
  • During the dive regularly check your air, depth, bottom time, and your location.
  • Plan a safety stop. Smart divers not only gauge their air consumption to cover their descent and bottom time, they also retain enough to cover their safety stop and surface with enough to respond to an emergency, should one arise.

Remember, how well you plan the dive will help reduce some of the elements of risk and increase your enjoyment and excitement on each dive. When you participate in any diving activity you are under your own care, custody, and control.


Your safety while diving is your responsibility.


Be a Responsible Diver!!!


PLAN YOUR DIVE…DIVE YOUR PLAN.


REFERENCE: Stans Diving Tips, Diving Equipment & Marketing Association


					
2 Comments

  1. begin with review and friend! 🙂

    *guilty* i don’t do it this way. I just ask my group if they have their stuff..if the air is on..I noticed that in anilao we don’t really check on our stuff because the boatmen do it for us..which is really nice of them, service deluxe the whole time whether we give them tips or not. 🙂 cool diba? (thank God for Poly and Virgil) We don’t even have to change tanks. so people forget..

  2. […] practice this.  I came across this phrase again while browsing through Diveshoppe’s page: Responsible Diver Code.  It was mentioned through a comment by one of my dive […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

